British Overseas Territories

Hurricane Irma is much in the news, and with it a lot of coverage of the support given to British Overseas Territories. It's an expression that you hear often enough, without really knowing what they are - either what makes somewhere a British Overseas Territory, or which places are in the list.

There are "a relic of the British Empire" and are places under the sovereignty of the UK which are not part of the UK. Parts of the British Empire that have not gained independence or wish to remain under British sovereignty.

For the record the UK Government website lists Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, and Turks and Caicos Islands. Some other sources list the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia on Cyprus as well. So that's clear!

There used to be a saying that the sun never set on the British Empire. Well, if these places are still considered to be the "remnants of the Empire", it still doesn't.


  • There are no comments yet. Be the first one to post a comment on this article!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published